The top leading universities and educational institutions in Orissa (India) include KIIT University; Berhampur University; Fakir Mohan University, Vyasa Vihar, Balasore; National Institute of Technology, Rourkela; Ravenshaw University; Veer Surendra Sai University of Technology; to name a few.

KIIT University was established in 1997 as an institution and declared as University in 2004. KIIT has memberships in some important institutions such as the International Association of Universities (IAU), Association of Indian Universities (AIU), Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU), International Association of Universities Presidents (IAUP) and University Mobility in Asia and the Pacific (UMAP). All the technical courses are accredited by National Board of Accreditation (NBA) of All India Council of Technical Education (AICTE).

Berhampur University has a wide area under its jurisdiction comprising the districts of Ganjam, Gajapati, Koraput, Rayagada, Nowrangapur, Malkangiri, Kandhamala and Boudh. It offers a range of courses in various subjects and disciplines such as Arts, Science, Commerce, Law, Education, Medicine, Engineering, Pharmacology, Homoeopathy, Ayurveda, Nursing, Military Science, Library Science and Fine Arts. The University has received NAAC accreditation with a rating of B+.

Fakir Mohan University, Vyasa Vihar, Balasore was founded by the Government of Orissa, under Section 32 of the Orissa Universities Act, 1989 (Act 5 of 1989). It has been accredited by the Association of Indian Universities, vide their letter No. Meet: SC: 261:2K/108693, dated 22 August 2000. All the P.G. Departments of the University are computer based.

National Institute of Technology, Rourkela (NIT) is one of the premier national level institutions for technical education in the country and is funded by the Government of India. It was formerly known as Regional Engineering College (REC).

Ravenshaw University was an upgradation of Ravenshaw College established in 1868, one of the oldest and largest colleges in India which subsequently became an autonomous college with CPE status by UGC and 'A' grade by NAAC.

Veer Surendra Sai University of Technology, Burla (formerly known as University College of Engineering, Burla) was established in the year 1956 as the first engineering college of the State at the foot of the world famous Hirakud dam. Postgraduate programme in various disciplines as approved by AICTE, New Delhi are offered by the college.

* Next: Top Universities in Maharashtra

World University Ranking Tables

America - US News & World Report, The Princeton Review, BusinessWeek
Canada - Maclean's, Gourman Report Ranking of Canadian Universities
UK - Sunday Times, Guardian, Times Good University Guide, Daily Telegraph
World - Shanghai Jiao Tong ARWU Rankings, Webometrics, Newsweek
Enter your email address for University Ranking Information: